Writing with Film

I still haven’t heard back from the district powers-that-be about the access issue of starting a blog for my students this fall (in TWO weeks…sigh). But I’m pushing on with the idea and hoping they’re on board. I’m also going to try to get this oral history project up and running–I’ve fallen in love with the Flip camera. I love its ease of use and the fact that it makes us all creators. Will what we create be great? Not all of it. Heck, probably not most of it. But it will offer us another way to tell our stories. I think it takes care of some of the mundane as well. I can video the class for absent students, so they don’t miss anything. Or better still, have a reluctant student be in charge of the video work to keep him/her immersed in the discourse. In the interest of stacking up more ideas than I could ever get to, here’s an eLearn article discussing uses.

William Wolff has six reccommendations for teachers using Flips in the classroom in his article “Composing Spaces.” And the first one is something we’ve talked about that digital natives do ALL the time–Take the cameras out and play with them. Yup, just put them in the students’ hands and get ’em doing something. (His other ideas make lots of sense, too, and I need that practical kind of help. 

And for a couple of student projects, check these (my computer’s too slow to load them):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UbViAohzNTk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GT6Kq7pFHj0

I’ll be looking for more advice as I go.

All right. I’m willing to add blogs and video in my room. I’m even willing to admit that wikis may be admissible as a research starting point. I don’t think I’m ready to make the stretch to include gaming yet. I don’t know whether it’s because I’m so cynical, or whether I just don’t understand them. I admit to being quite baffled by it all, not having actually played a video game since the 80’s. Despite the “plus one” talk we heard on the TED video today, I have a sense of deja vu. I have, in fact, been through more than one professional development day touting “plus one” with colleagues who have no intention of implementing the challenge (or many other ones, either). Does this make me one of them? I don’t know. I like to think I’m stretching and growing and trying new things, but am I? How much is too much? More importantly, how much is not enough?

Leave a Reply

