A novel approach

This is my first blog from the book I’m reading in class called All the Way Home by Wendy Corsi Staub. It’s a mystery book, because that’s one of the types of books I like to read in my spare time. I thought this one would be especially interesting–it’s about the disappearance of four teenage girls that happens ten years before the start of the book. The timeline of events means that some of the novel is told in flashback; the main character of the book remembers things that happened when her sister dissapeared. (The main character is Rory, and her sister, one of the missing girls, was named Carleen.) But things are happening in the present part of the book too–another girl has disappeared on the tenth anniversary of the old kidnappings, in the same neighborhood, and it’s Rory’s little sister’s friend. I don’t know yet whose responsible–even though I’m usually good at guessing “whodunit.” The narrator is third person omniscent, so I get a little of what everyone is thinking and feeling, and I know certain things not all the characters do. (Just not enough to figure out who the bad guy–or girl–is yet!)

The story makes me feel sad in some places, because it talks about how the people who are left to wonder what happens to kidnap victims deal with life after the kidnapping when the victim is never found. There are lots of organizations that try to help, like the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children or even the International Centre for Missing and Exploited Children (for those taken out of the country).

It also made me think about how my book would be different if the missing teens in it were different. There’s a phenomena in our society that makes us pay attention to young, white, middle- and upper-class female victims and ignore most of the others. Take a look at this video, and let me know if you agree…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shanice Taylor
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 08:56:52

    The book sounds like its really good i hope i get a chance to read it!!

    Reply

  2. Timothy Edge
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 14:01:24

    I think i left the comment right đŸ™‚

    Reply

    • pddellin
      Sep 16, 2010 @ 17:00:05

      Make sure you go back and add me as a reader, TJ. Go to your page, click dashboard, click settings, click privacy, then type pddellin into the box and click add. Thanks! I want to be able to see what you’re writing! Ms. Dellinger

      Reply

  3. mikala2013
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 18:17:53

    The book sounds really good, one day you need to tell us more about it because i really would like to read it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

