The sadness will live forever

So says Van Gogh, and on days like today, I’m inclined to believe him. I would say I’m feeling cynical, or that it’s just this cold I have (again and yet again), but that doesn’t seem to cover it. Some days I’m just overwhelmed with the things for which I’m responsible, and all I can think is, “Please don’t let me screw anything or anyone up too badly.” Yes, it was a day for standardized testing, and we all know where I stand on that issue. So is it that my students do poorly because they don’t understand the concepts, or is it that they just can’t read the selections about which the questions are asked? They seem to respond well in other forms, leading me to believe it’s the reading, and we’re working on that. But sometimes it seems like the hole has to go to China, and I only have a teaspoon. Then something great like the blogs we started happens, and I’m encouraged again. So maybe it doesn’t live forever, maybe it just feels like it on these days. That’s the way I’m gonna play it. Another grad class tonight and some much-needed medicine and sleep…Circle the wagons! Tomorrow is another day, Scarlett…

Leave a comment