More lists

Those of you who have known me longest know I am a person of lists. Even when I didn’t write, the lists survived, anchoring my brain, buffering it against the turbulent sea of chaos it creates. Today is one of those days, so I’ve decided to do what I do best. To counter the part of my brain that tells me I’m useless, things are hopeless, and nothing changes, I offer up this list of things that are beautiful in my life to the god of tangibility:

  • Pens that write with purple ink
  • Uninhibited laughter
  • Words that resonate with truth
  • Sunshine
  • Thunderstorms
  • Breathing
  • Childish curiosity 
  • Earl grey with honey and milk
  • Purposeful tasks accomplished 
  • Kindnesses
  • Melancholy folk music
  • Jangling banjos
  • Pony tails
  • Legos
  • Completed puzzles
  • Someone wrapped around me as I sleep
  • Stillness
  • Hiking boots that are dirty
  • The cry of the love dogs of Rumi
  • Notifications
  • Nibbles and wine 
  • Protest music
  • Convertibles
  • Homemade lunches
  • Talk of the day over simple suppers
  • Listeners
  • Empathy 
  • Spontaneous adventures
  • Honesty
  • Flowers on my nightstand
  • Giggling slaps on the ass
  • Colored paper clips
  • Idealism
  • Knowing 
  • Not knowing 
  • Hugs from people who love me
  • Smarticle particles
  • A tender hand on my cheek
  • Rapid cycling
Leave a Reply

